Fifth place for Paulin in Glen Helen MXGP final.

Fifth place for Paulin in Glen Helen MXGP final.

The 2016 MXGP series has come to an end with the spectacular Glen Helen hillside circuit, hosting the final round in California, USA.  Gautier Paulin put in a solid performance claiming 5th overall with a 10-5 score.

Paulin was determined to improve on his first moto result and as the gate dropped for the second moto he pushed hard on the opening lap to slot into 5th position.  It was a cat and mouse game as he reeled in Nagl while fending off a challenge from Febvre which lasted the duration of the 30 min + 2 lap race.

Gautier Paulin:“Today was a little bit up and down because I was tenth in the first moto but then fifth in the second, which was much better. In moto one I knew that my position today was fifth. I tried to push to pass Max in race two but I couldn’t make it, so in the end fifth was exactly where we finished, in the second race and overall. Romain has been on it this weekend and he finished behind me in the second race so we know that the speed was there. I struggled a bit on the bike yesterday and in the first moto when the track was flat, but in the second race it was rougher so I could be more technical so we could do a better job. It’s great for Honda to have taken the Manufacturers’ title too, so I want to congratulate the team and all the HRC staff for all their work this season, and also thank them for all their support and all the work of the team this season.”

Paulin now heads to Maggiora, Italy where he will represent Team France at the Motocross of Nations on the 25th September.

Image: HRC/Bavo

Race results:

MXGP Race 1: 1. Eli Tomac (USA, Kawasaki), 36:36.218; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:15.622; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:28.537; 4. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:34.082; 5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:36.509; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:38.664; 7. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:43.174; 8. Dean Wilson (GBR, KTM), +0:46.822; 9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:50.421; 10. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:54.314.

MXGP Race 2: 1. Eli Tomac (USA, Kawasaki), 34:58.974; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:16.031; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:19.041; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:25.660; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:27.302; 6. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:33.516; 7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Kawasaki), +1:01.351; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:04.094; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:04.386; 10. Jordi Tixier (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:07.854.

MXGP Overall: 1. Eli Tomac (USA, KAW), 50 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 p.; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 38 p.; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 38 p.; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 27 p.; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 24 p.; 7. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 23 p.; 8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 23 p.; 9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KAW), 22 p.; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 21 p.

MXGP Championship: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 731 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 647 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 603 p.; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 564 p.; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 545 p.; 6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 536 p.; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 406 p.; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 372 p.; 9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 352 p.; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 343 p. 13.Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 270 p